The Agylia platform supports users that can be in either the Activated or Deactivated states, and users can be Deleted from the system. Users that are in the Activated or Deactivated states can also have accounts that are Locked.
Users default to the Activated state, when they are added to the LMS, and can access the platform. An administrator can use the administrator portal user interface, bulk user import or the Agylia Public API, to set a user's state to Activated, where they were previously deactivated.
Users are normally moved into the Deactivated state when they no-longer need access to the platform, for example, when they leave a company. An administrator can use the administrator portal user interface, bulk user import or the Agylia Public API, to set a user's state to Deactivated.
When a user is in the Deactivated state, they:
- Cannot login to the LMS
- Are not sent any email notifications from the LMS
- Can optionally be excluded from the users listed on the Users page.
- Can optionally be excluded form the users included in reports generated by the LMS
When users enter their password incorrectly too many times, their account will become Locked. Further login attempts will always fail, but the user will continue to be in the Activated state, and be included in notifications and reports.
Administrators can Unlock a user account in the administrator portal, on the user's Profile page.
INFO: If a user is both locked and deactivated, the Deactivated state will take precedence, so for example, they will not be sent notifications.
Administrators can use the administrator portal user interface to delete a user via the user's Profile page. A deleted user cannot access the LMS.
Reporting data is not retained for deleted users, and as a result, administrators cannot produce reports that include deleted users. Typically, a user is deactivated, rather than deleted form the LMS, so that their learner records are maintained for future use.
Unlike with a Deactivated user that can be changed to be Activated, a deleted user cannot be recovered (creating a new user with the same username will not enable access to a previously deleted user account).
In some circumstances it may be possible for the support team to retrieve information for a deleted user account, however this cannot be guaranteed. If you require data recovery for a deleted user please contact support as soon as possible (the sooner we receive the request the greater the chances of data recovery). Please note that in most circumstances data recovery for deleted users is not included in our standard support offering and so will incur a charge. Please contact your account manager for further information on the costs for this type of data recovery.