The Content Administrator role enables the assignee to manage the catalogue for a set of users. Specifically, a Content Administrator can:
- Upload/create new content items.
- Manage targeting for all content items for a restricted set of users (please see note below on role restrictions which modify this) , based on the groups or organisational units (OUs) associated with the role.
- Manage properties for (some) existing content items.
The exact permissions granted for a given content item depend on whether the user is also an owner of the content item being edited. When a Content Administrator uploads or creates a new content item, the system automatically makes that user the content item's owner. For more information on content item owners, see the Content Item Owners page.
For an existing content item, the permissions granted to the Content Administrator vary depending on whether the user is listed as an owner for the item.
Where the user is not listed as the owner, the Content Administrator can manage the targeting for the item for the users in the groups and OUs associated with their role. The system will also indicate if there are other users which are hidden from the Content Administrator. A count of hidden users is shown when there are users or groups over which the user does not have the Content Administrator role, but are targeted to the item. For example, they have been targeted by another Content Administrator who has permissions over a different set of groups, or by a Global Administrator. The user will not be able to make any changes to the item which might impact users beyond the groups associated with their Content Administrator role.
Where the user is listed as the owner, the Content Administrator can manage all properties of the content item. This includes, but is not limited to, changing metadata such as the thumbnail image, title and description, modifying schedules and availability, and updating the item with a new version. While the Content Administrator still cannot explicitly make changes to targeting for users beyond the groups and OUs associated with their role (these users will still be hidden), the user can make changes which have an implicit impact. Changes such as changing the title, availability and other metadata will impact all targeted users.
Additionally, the user will be able to delete a content item that they are listed as owning. This will have the implicit effect of removing the targeting for all targeted users, including those whose details they are unable to see. Content Administrators should carefully consider before removing a content item, and should be aware that content items with no direct targeting (no users or groups listed in the My Learning or Catalogue fields) may be indirectly targeted through one or more curricula. Where the item is included in a curriculum (and so might be indirectly targeted) this is listed in the targeting section.
Content Administrators who are content item owners, should be aware that it they remove themselves from the Owner field, after saving changes they will no longer be able to modify the properties of that item. This might be useful, for example, when transferring a job role to a successor, but in some circumstances might not have the intended result. If the owner is changed to another Content Administrator then that Content Administrator will then be able to modify the properties for that item. If the Owner is changed to a user (or group or OU containing a user) who is not a Content Administrator then only a Global Administrator will be able to make changes to that content item after making such a change.
The Content Administrator role is not restricted by default, however this role can be restricted to prevent content administrators from viewing user details. Where the role is restricted, all users will appear as hidden items (in the same way as an out of scope user, group or OU). The restricted content administrator is still be able to manage targeting based on groups or OUs in the usual way, however the Users tab is removed from the content targeting Users dialog.
Global administrators can choose whether to restrict the Content administrator role by using the option on the Advanced page within the settings area of the administration portal.