Content item owner(s) are configured at the item level, and can be a single user, a group of users, or any combination of users and groups. By default, the content item owner is the user who first added the content item to the system. The system will automatically assign this field when a new item is added to the system.
Content item owners can be changed by either:
- A Content administrator who is already listed as an owner for the item.
- A Global administrator, regardless of if they are listed as an owner for the item.
If the user is a Global administrator, the permissions granted to the user are not affected by the users and groups listed as the owners for the content item. Assigning a Global administrator as the content owner, is functionally equivalent to listing no content owner, but might still be useful as additional metadata for your business purposes.
If the user is a Content administrator, the permissions granted to the user are impacted by the users and groups listed as the owners for the content item. Assigning a Content administrator as the owner grants additional permissions to that Content administrator for that content item, but does not impact global administrators. For more information on the permissions granted to a Content administrator see Explained: The Content administrator role article.